#1 2009-06-18 13:18:03

Hello – I am a new resident of Wareham.  It’s clear to me that Wareham has a huge drug/crime problem.   Does anyone know if the town has considered adopting any of the new Video Surveillance systems to help deter crime in "known" problem areas.   

http://www.policeone.com/police-product … veillance/

#2 2009-06-18 13:27:52

TBL

bigshrimpin, video cameras would be useful in certain areas but the police department can't even afford to replace hub caps that fall off police cruisers nevermind buying, installing, and monitoring sophisticated surveillance cameras.

#3 2009-06-18 13:53:16

GWB

Big Shrimpin, Suggestion Write your BOS tell them to start getting WPD funds to fight the crime you speak of and stop wasting away your tax dollars treating Town Employees like criminals. That would be a start. I agree with TBL I am sure that the WPD would be more than happy to get involved with a program like that but it would definately take funding that they don't have.

#4 2009-06-18 14:08:19

TBL wrote:

bigshrimpin, video cameras would be useful in certain areas but the police department can't even afford to replace hub caps that fall off police cruisers nevermind buying, installing, and monitoring sophisticated surveillance cameras.

Do you think folks would object to raising taxes and deal with those problems?  Seems like a healthy police dept should be a priority for the town.

#5 2009-06-18 14:20:04

bigshrimpin wrote:

Do you think folks would object to raising taxes and deal with those problems?

New around here?

#6 2009-06-18 14:21:45

THE THING IS BIGSHRIMPIN I WOULDNT GIVE THIS TOWN ANYTHING IN ITS CURRENT FORM. PEOPLE ARE NOT GOING TO HAVE THEIR TAXES RAISED WHEN TENS OF THOUSANDS ARE BEING WASTED THROUGH LAWSUITS, LEGAL FEES, COMPUTER "AUDITS" NO SIR MY TAXES WILL NOT BE RAISED WHEN THE CHAIRMAN OWES 181,000 DOLLARS. I PAY MY TAXES AND ITS PEOPLE LIKE HIM THAT THE TOWN, STATE ARE IN THE FINANCIAL SITUATION THEY ARE IN.