#1 2009-10-23 11:13:13

My son is home on leave. U. S. Marine. Has been in for almost four years, has another 1 and a half left. Corporal. Great kid! Wants to be in politics when he gets out and finishes college. He is fascinated by all politics, and for years I would tell him about Town Meeting in New England and how it was the purest form of democracy in the Nation. When I told him that people in Wareham were thinking about eliminating the form of government, he was flabbergasted.
"You always told me it was the purest form of democracy in the United States. Why would they do that?"
Good question. It has no good answers, at least not what I have heard.
I can recall the first Town Meeting I ever went to. 1969 Fall Town Meeting. I was a rookie cop.
The cops in those days didn't have a union or even a viable organization to seek benefits. When I went on the Police department the pay was, if I recall correctly, $400.00 per month. That was based on at least a 48 hour week.Most of us worked 7 days a week if we could, because money was tight. Extra shifts, outside special events, whatever it took to make a few bucks. The Selectmen in those days did not want to deal with the Police Department and it's Officers wanting pay raises and benefits.
So, cops talk. All we talked about for months was joining a union. Sergeants and above were excluded. We only had about 20 full time cops. We had at least two votes to pass the union, and finally joined the AFSCME-AFLCIO..I was the first Secretary-Treasurer of the Union. I believe Ralph Forni was the President, and I don't recall any other members.
So..we set up meetings with the Selectmen to negotiate a fair and balanced contract. All we met with was opposition. Our Chief, Fred Besse, was not in favor of a Union Police Department, and to be honest, most of us weren't either, but we had no other choice. It was necessary.